Looking ahead in life

“One of the happiest moments in life is when you find the courage to let go of what you can’t change”

We’ve all got those memories, people, times, experiences that we can’t seem to let go of. Often, we might find ourselves thinking about those things and the thoughts always linger with us, somewhere there at the back of our heads, just waiting for the right time to remind you. I’m writing this post because I feel like that right now. The thought of something that once held significance in my life and is no longer there but will always be somewhere in my mind. I just feel like I’m one of those people who get SO attached, like if I love you, you’ll know and it honestly changes my life so much. There’s so many memories and people that I remember and miss. The good and the bad.

It’s understanding why you’d miss the good but why the bad? It’s a shame because there were people I once knew, and now it feels like nothing. Literally, nothing. It’s one of life’s many things that we have to grow to understand but sometimes, no matter how hard you tell yourself to move on and live life, you’ll always think about those things. It upsets me sometimes looking at the changes in my life. Ones that really were important to me that now mean absolutely nothing. Why? I wish I could move on from these thoughts. It’s the thoughts that drive you insane. Metaphorically of course. Like sometimes, I think about something that happened which was so great. A good memory. It makes me sad and I would love to go back to that day just to re-feel and experience those 24 hours all over again. Sometimes, I laugh at how silly I can be for thinking I had it all figured out but I didn’t. You never can with life because you never know what’s to come and what’s to go.

I look at some people, whether I know them now or if I used to and question, ‘What happened?’ I know there’s a difference in ‘changing’ and ‘growing up’ but when you’ve known them so well, it kills all the expectations that you really had. I want to thank these times and people because for these, I’ve learnt so many things. If I don’t mean anything to you, then likewise. No shade, no tea. Just honesty, because I like keeping it real.

I’m always forever appreciative of everyone and everything that I have in my life. I’m happy that from these thoughts and experiences, I’ve learnt so many lessons and I’ve become more independent. I will continue to strive for the best. Treat people with respect. I will try to live a better life, not upset anyone and continue to pray to God for giving me life. Life is precious and I know myself. I know what I want from life, what I want to do and what I want to achieve. I want to be around ambitious, hardworking people. I want good vibes, I want people with energy and passion for success. These people, are the kinds of people who drive me to do better, help me realise what’s right and wrong. I want to make my parents proud, I want to give back to all those who’ve always supported me and continue to love and pray.

Sorry about this post sounding so deep but this is one of the many reasons why I love blogging. It’s a platform where I’m able to voice and express my thoughts and opinions and share with you all how I feel. Stay blessed and happy.

sig

Bloglovin | Twitter | Instagram | Tumblr | Pinterest 

Don’t forget, you can get 20% off at Coconut-Lane when you use my code ‘possiblysami20’ at the checkout!

Posted by

19. London based blogger. I blog about all things beauty, fashion and mainly lifestyle related. Welcome to my little space on the internet.

49 thoughts on “Looking ahead in life

  1. I think about that too and it made me bitter for a long time. Thankfully God helped me get through those feelings and now I’m at a place where I thank every person that came in to my life, good and bad. Those people along with God helped shape my life. Now I am blessed to have people who are truly for me in my life and to let people go who don’t have the best interest for me. It’s one of the hardest parts of life but thankfully we never have to deal with these moments alone.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You couldn’t have worded that anymore beautifully! I love that. Where would be without God, the one person who truly stands by you and listens! It just takes time to heal and get over something but once you do, it’s one of the greatest feelings ever! x

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved reading this post. You’re so right, surrounding yourself with strong positive people do have such a good a impact on yourself. The past is something that gets me too, I often miss memories I’ve had with people even if I know longer get along with them. I wish I could relive happy happy times but I keep pushing forward to create more good memories for myself! Lovely post Sami and also a beaut pic! xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sometimes it just gets to me. It’s like those thoughts will live with me forever and it drives me crazy! I wish I wasn’t a person who expected so much because when you do, you’re always let down. Hehe aw, thank you my lovely xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I feel like letting go of things you have no control over is one of the hardest parts of life, yet essential for learning and growing. I think almost everyone can relate to this, as we all have to experience this at least a few times in our lives, but it’s always worth it in the end. Thank you so much for this post! Also, you look stunning in the picture!

    Georgia X
    https://itsgeorgiaxoxo.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I very much enjoy reading inspiring posts like these. It’s also nice to see people who think the same way as me. Very wise and motivational post 🙂

    Creatinghappyminds.wordpress.com

    Rosie Mauu x

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Loved this! I’m a massive fan of deep posts and feel like our blogs take quite similar routes in terms of content, so your posts are always a joy to read 😉 As someone who really finds herself craving adventure and wanting to really “live” at the moment, the quote you used really resonated with me as well. Looking forward to more posts like this!
    Jas xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh wow, that’s amazing lovely because I will probably binge-read all your posts. I love sharing my thoughts with people and love, love, LOVE listening and reading back others thoughts and posts. Thank you so much, your comment made me smile 🙂 xx

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I absolutely love this post! I’ve been really struggling recently with thinking about things from the past and not being able to let go of them and focus on the future so this post has really helped me so thank you! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope it has helped lovely. Sometimes, we just need to take a deep breath and as we release, just know that we’re turning the page over and starting a new chapter. The past is the past and we cannot change it but accept what we have in the present and hope for the future. xx

      Like

  7. I am in a very similar place right now, change and moving on from past places, people and memories is very hard. Such a lovely post, thank you for sharing. Xx

    Kirsty | The Monday Project | themondayproject.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Great insightful post, I love that about blogging too, the opportunities to create content that you genuinely enjoy, self-expression! I think looking ahead in life is so crucial.. we all hit hard times, obstacles, but we must move forward. and I’m such a strong believer in surrounding yourself with POSITIVE energy!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. This post. I can relate SO MUCH because like you, I get super attached and sentimental to certain times, places and people in my life. Especially in the past, who aren’t around anymore for whatever reason. Nostalgia is kinda my best friend and my enemy all in one!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I can SO relate to this, just yesterday I was remembering someone I was really close to in high school & even considered her my best friend at one point, but I guess as we grow, everything changes, but it’s always for the best in the long run & everything is happening the way it’s supposed to. You’re so right when you say that we can never know what’s going to happen in the future, life’s so unpredictable. You right so beautifully, I really enjoyed reading this post, because of what you were saying but also because of your writing style xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

